Jurassic World! My Cosplay…

I heavily altered the shirt and the vest -- the shirt was dyed, adjusted to size, and patches were added - the vest started out as a khaki jacket and I removed a few elements, dyed & altered it, and added patches/details as well. My accessories included a badge I made, some aviators, and raptor scars, of course!

I heavily altered the shirt and the vest — the shirt was dyed, adjusted to size, and patches were added – the vest started out as a khaki jacket and I removed a few elements, dyed & altered it, and added patches/details as well. My accessories included a badge I made, some aviators, and raptor scars, of course!

My friend Amanda and I did a little cosplay at the Jurassic World premiere. The movie was incredible!

I altered these pieces which were all found at the thrift store.  I wanted to sort of resemble Chris Pratt’s character (teal shirt, brown leather vest) but then make it look like a park employee so it was a little more obvious.

The shirt I altered to my size and dyed it a darker, almost turquoise blue. Then I added a Jurassic World security patch on one sleeve and an Isla Nublar Veterinary Services patch on the other.

The vest started out as a khaki jacket. I removed the sleeves, one of the front pockets, and the collar.  Then I hemmed the armholes and around the neckline.  After this I dyed it a few times; it didn’t get as dark as I wanted even though it was 100% cotton.  I even added black to the brown dye mix, but no luck.  Must be a strange cotton :) And apparently the thread is polyester because that didn’t dye — even when I used iDye Poly to try and darken it.  100% cotton, oh please. *shakes head*

After that I added a Jurassic World patch to the place I removed the pocket, and I had a hole to cover up, so I sprayed some silver stars and added them there.

I spent some time in Photoshop making us IDs and printed them on photo paper, then attached them to lanyards.  I did a really quick 5-minute scar makeup because I was running behind on time, but it worked from far away :)

 

 

